Deutsche Version  ACT

Energy storage systems – research for the energy transition

With the continuously rising share of renewable energies in the energy supply system, storage systems for electrical and thermal energy are becoming ever more important. If electricity is converted before it is stored, for example into hydrogen or other chemical energy sources, this energy can then be used in other energy industry-related sectors and thus for the much-needed coupling of the various sectors, all in addition to re-electrification of stored energy.

To date, however, only few storage technologies have reached the necessary technical maturity at a competitive cost level. The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research have recognised the research and development needs in the area of energy storage technology and are developing tailored promotional activities as part of the 6th Energy Research Programme of the Federal Government. With the Energy Storage Funding Initiative, both ministries have been supporting innovations for a wide range of storage technologies since 2011. But development is ongoing: the two ministries are pursuing new storage concepts and are further advancing existing technological developments also beyond the Energy Storage Funding Initiative.

  • SmartPowerFlow

    Scientists integrate a large redox-flow battery into the power grid of a German operator. more

  • Open sorption processes

    A junior research group investigated heat and material transfer to an aqueous solution of lithium chloride. more

  • Pump storage concept

    The project “StEnSEA” is investigating the installation of large storage facilities on the sea floor. more

Interview | 4.4.2016
Interview with Professor Dr Ulrich Wagner

"Power-to-heat and thermal storage are of utmost interest"

In the merit-order study, researchers at the Research Center for Energy Economics (FfE) and 13 industrial partners jointly examined the nature of an economic system infrastructure for reliable energy supply until 2030. Professor Dr Ulrich Wagner, scientific director at FfE, speaks about the study in this interview. He explains the role of functional energy storage systems, and which storage options were most suitable in which situations.

..

more

News | 1.3.2016
Long-term heat storage systems

Exploratory drilling in the deep subsurface

On Monday the GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences started research drilling on the campus of the Technical University of Berlin in Charlottenburg. The data collected is intended to clarify whether Berlin’s substratum is suitable for storing heating and cooling energy. The study is being accompanied by extensive wellbore measurements and laboratory tests.

..

more

News | 20.1.2016
PEM electrolysis

Prototype has been running for 1,000 hours

Hydrogen will become increasingly important in future for supplying energy because it enables large, renewably generated energy volumes to be stored for longer periods. Together with partners from science and industry, scientists from Forschungszentrum Jülich are developing methods for producing hydrogen by electrolysing water as part of the Ekolyser project. They have tested more robust and cost-effective materials in a new test facility. The prototype has now reached its intended lifetime of 1,000 hours. It is planned that the developed technology will be ready for operational use on a broad scale by 2020.

..

more

News | 8.12.2015
SmartRegion Pellworm

Renewably stored electricity for the island

Wind energy and photovoltaic systems do not always generate power when it is needed. Schleswig-Holstein is therefore testing the local storage of renewably generated electricity on the North Sea island of Pellworm. The SmartRegion Pellworm project has now won first place in the German Renewables Award competition.

..

more

News | 23.11.2015
Electricity storage systems in the cloud

green2store: Field test started

The green2store project shows how energy storage systems can be bundled together in a virtual cloud. For the next twelve months, a local network storage system and nine home storage systems will be interconnected with one another in a cloud. The field test has now commenced...

more

News | 9.11.2015
Zinc-air-batteries

Greater current density for zinc-air batteries

Rechargeable zinc-air storage systems have yet to achieve satisfactory charge and discharge cycles. This provides the starting point for the ZnPLUS project: researchers have increased the current density by using a modified zinc slurry. This makes the batteries easier to maintain and improves their performance reliability – with simultaneously lower costs...

more

News | 19.10.2015
Vanadium Redox Flow

Large-scale storage system begins operation

In the Smart Power Flow project, scientists are testing the use of a large vanadium redox flow battery in a local low-voltage grid. The local storage system recently commenced operation in Tussenhausen in Bavaria. ...

more

News | 12.10.2015
Vanadium redox flow batteries

New design reduces costs for bipolar plates

Redox flow batteries have a relatively complex structure and are prone to error. Researchers have therefore now integrated a bipolar plate directly into a stack. This saves on components and at the same time reduces costs. In addition, it makes the system easier to assemble and more reliable.

..

more

News | 6.7.2015
World’s largest electrolysis plant

Energiepark Mainz inaugurated

At Energiepark Mainz, Linde, Siemens, RheinMain University and the Stadtwerke Mainz municipal utility company are producing large amounts of hydrogen by renewable means. Four adjacent wind turbines take over the largest part of the electricity generation. The hydrogen can be stored on site, transported in tanks or fed into the natural gas network for the subsequent generation of electricity or heat. The world's largest electrolysis plant of its kind has now been inaugurated...

more

News | 28.4.2015
Conference report on the 2nd status seminar on energy storage systems

Interim findings of the Energy Storage Research Initiative

Which contribution can energy storage systems make to the energy transition? How can they be employed economically? And what are the future research priorities? These were the questions answered during the 2nd status seminar on energy storage systems in Berlin last week. Half-time for the Energy Storage Research Initiative, and time to look at the score.

..

more

Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

8. June 2016
BDEW Kongress 2016

23. March 2016
WHEC 2016

21. June 2016
ees Europe – Conference and fair on batteries and energy storage

» All dates

Sponsored projects

Project search
» All projects

ACTEnglish version

Energiespeicher – Forschung für die Energiewende

Mit dem stetig wachsenden Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien in der Energieversorgung werden Energiespeicher für Strom und Wärme immer bedeutsamer. Wird der Strom vor der Speicherung umgewandelt, zum Beispiel in Wasserstoff oder andere chemische Energieträger, besteht neben der Wiederverstromung überdies die Möglichkeit zur Nutzung der Energie in anderen energiewirtschaftlichen Sektoren und damit zur dringend benötigten Kopplung der verschiedenen Sektoren.

Bisher haben jedoch erst wenige Speichertechnologien die notwendige technische Reife zu wettbewerbsfähigen Kosten erreicht. Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) und das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) haben den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarf auf dem Gebiet der Energiespeicher erkannt und entwickeln maßgeschneiderte Förderaktivitäten innerhalb des 6. Energieforschungsprogramms der Bundesregierung. Mit der Förderinitiative Energiespeicher unterstützen die beiden Ministerien seit 2011 Innovationen für eine sehr große Bandbreite an Speichertechnologien. Doch die Entwicklung geht weiter: Auch über die Förderinitiative Energiespeicher hinaus greifen BMWi und BMBF neue Speicherthemen auf und führen die begonnenen technologischen Entwicklungen weiter fort.

  • SmartPowerFlow

    Forscher integrieren erstmals eine Redox-Flow-Großbatterie in ein Stromnetz. mehr

  • Offene Sorptionsprozesse

    Eine Nachwuchsgruppe entwickelt ein neues Sorbens, um Energie länger speichern zu können. mehr

  • Neues Pumpspeicherkonzept

    Ein neu entwickelter Hohlkugelspeicher für den Meeresboden soll bis zu 20 MWh Strom speichern können. mehr

Interview | 4.4.2016
Professor Dr. Ulrich Wagner im Interview

„Power-to-heat und thermische Speicher sind top-interessant“

In der Studie Merit Order untersuchten Forscher, wie eine wirtschaftliche Systeminfrastruktur für die zuverlässige Energieversorgung bis 2030 aussehen kann. Professor Dr. Ulrich Wagner, wissenschaftlicher Leiter bei der Forschungsstelle für Energiewirtschaft, erläutert im Interview, welche Rolle funktionale Energiespeicher spielen und welche Speicheroptionen sich wann am besten eignen. ...

mehr

News | 1.3.2016
Langzeitwärmespeicher

Erkundungsbohrung im tiefen Untergrund

Gestern startete das Deutsche GeoForschungsZentrum GFZ mit einer Forschungsbohrung auf dem Campus der Technischen Universität Berlin in Charlottenburg. Die gewonnenen Daten sollen klären, ob Berlins Untergrund sich als Wärme- und Kältespeicher eignet. Umfangreiche Bohrlochmessungen und Tests im Labor begleiten die Untersuchung. ...

mehr

News | 20.1.2016
PEM-Elektrolyse

Prototyp läuft seit 1.000 Stunden

Wasserstoff wird in Zukunft für die Energieversorgung immer wichtiger, denn durch ihn lassen sich regenerativ gewonnene Energiemengen auch über längere Zeiträume speichern. Im Projekt Ekolyser entwickeln Wissenschaftler mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie Methoden für die Produktion von Wasserstoff mittels Elektrolyse von Wasser. In einer neuen Testanlage erprobten sie robustere und kostengünstige Werkstoffe. Der Prototyp hat nun seine vorgesehene Laufzeit von 1.000 Stunden erreicht. ...

mehr

News | 8.12.2015
SmartRegion Pellworm

Regenerativ gespeicherter Strom für die Insel

Windenergie- und Photovoltaikanlagen erzeugen nicht immer genau dann den Strom, wenn er gebraucht wird. Auf der Nordseeinsel Pellworm erprobt daher Schleswig-Holstein Netz die lokale Speicherung von regenerativ erzeugtem Strom. Nun belegte das Projekt SmartRegion Pellworm den 1. Platz beim German Renewables Award. ...

mehr

News | 23.11.2015
Stromspeicher in der Cloud

green2store: Feldtest gestartet

Wie sich Energiespeicher in einer virtuellen Wolke bündeln lassen, zeigt das Projekt green2store. Für die kommenden zwölf Monate sind in einer sogenannten Cloud ein Ortsnetzspeicher und neun Hausspeicher miteinander vernetzt. Nun startete der Feldtest. ...

mehr

News | 9.11.2015
Zink-Luft-Akku

Höhere Stromdichte für Zink-Luft-Batterien

Wiederaufladbare Zink-Luft-Speicher erreichen bislang noch nicht die zufriedenstellenden Lade- und Entladezyklen. Hier setzt das Projekt ZnPLUS an: Forscher erhöhten mithilfe eines veränderten Zink-Slurrys die Stromdichte. Das macht die Batterie wartungsarm und leistungsbeständig – bei gleichzeitig geringeren Kosten. ...

mehr

News | 19.10.2015
Vanadium-Redox-Flow

Großspeicher in Betrieb genommen

Im Projekt Smart Power Flow erproben Wissenschaftler den Einsatz einer großen Vanadium-Redox-Flow-Batterie in einem lokalen Niederspannungsnetz. Vor kurzem wurde der Ortsspeicher im Bayerischen Tussenhausen in Betrieb genommen. ...

mehr

News | 12.10.2015
Vanadium-Redox-Flow-Batterie

Neue Konstruktion macht Bipolarplatten günstiger

Redox-Flow-Batterien sind relativ komplex aufgebaut und fehleranfällig. Daher integrierten die Forscher jetzt eine bipolare Platte direkt in einen Stack. Das spart Komponenten und zugleich Kosten. Obendrein macht es den Zusammenbau einfacher und das System zuverlässiger. ...

mehr

News | 5.10.2015
PV-Nutzen

Wie Batteriespeicher das Stromnetz entlasten können

Werden Photovoltaik-Anlagen mit Batteriespeichern kombiniert, erhöht das den Eigenverbrauch des Stroms im Wohngebäude. Jedoch belasten zu viele Photovoltaik-Anlagen durch hohe Einspeisung das Stromnetz. Energiespeicher zum Eigenverbrauch allein können das Netz nicht gezielt entlasten. Daher entwickelten Forscher nun Betriebsstrategien, um die Einspeiseleistung zu reduzieren. ...

mehr

News | 6.7.2015
Weltgrößte Power-to-Gas-Anlage

Energiepark Mainz eingeweiht

Im Energiepark Mainz können nun größere Mengen Wasserstoff erneuerbar hergestellt werden. Der Wasserstoff lässt sich vor Ort lagern, in Tanks füllen oder zur späteren Strom- oder Wärmeerzeugung ins Erdgas-Netz speisen. Jetzt wurde die weltweit größte Elektrolyse-Anlage dieser Art eingeweiht...

mehr

Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

31. Mai 2016
Seminar zu Gasdiffusionselektroden

8. Juni 2016
BDEW Kongress 2016

13. Juni 2016
WHEC 2016

» Alle Termine

Geförderte Projekte

Projektsuche
» Alle Projekte