Deutsche Version  ACT
Thermal Storage
BMWi
Industrial waste heat utilisation 12.9.2017

The figure shows solid material sampled to determine heat capacity.
© ZAE Bayern

Foundry using waste heat of the furnace

In energy-intensive industries, e.g. foundry industry or cement

industry, the use of waste heat for example as process or space heating

energy reduces the consumption of primary energy.  In the Project “IAST”

researchers are testing an energy storage system for discontinuous

industrial waste heat of a furnace at a foundry. The implementation and

commissioning is expected to start at the end of 2014.

Project status Development
Storage type Solid material in direct contact with the heat transfer medium
Research objective Storage material, steel storage construction
Temperature type High temperature
Storage/Charging Direct
Storage time Short (hours to days)
Number of cycles Daily
Charging temperature Up to 300°C
Discharge temperature < 100°
Storage capacity 10MWh
Energy storage density 0,6kWh/m³K
Project duration June 2013 until November 2018

In energy-intensive industries (e.g. foundry industry, cement industry, etc.) the use of waste heat for example as process or space heating energy reduces the consumption of primary energy and the greenhouse gas emissions. Especially the use of discontinuous waste heat (> 100 ° C) by thermal energy storage is an already frequently discussed and theoretically considered field in which only a few industrial applications can be found. The main reasons are the high investment costs of available storage technologies that can be used for temperatures above 100 ° C. Another reason is the comparatively low energy costs for gas and electricity in the field of the energy-intensive industry. If there is a low number of cycles (loading and unloading) of the thermal energy storage an economic operation is difficult to achieve. The development of an effective thermal energy storage, the recovery of as many waste heat sources as possible and the identification of suitable heat customers and their intelligent combination within an energy system is therefore a prerequisite for an economic use of waste heat by thermal energy storage.

  • Temperature characteristic of the available waste heat at the foundry Heunisch &copy; ZAE Bayern
  • Influence of the solid material packed bed on cost and storage capacity compared to a conventional thermal oil storage. &copy; ZAE Bayern
  • Schematic diagramm of a dual media thermal storage &copy; ZAE Bayern
  • The figure shows solid material sampled to determine heat capacity. &copy; ZAE Bayern
  • Thermal conductivity measurement of different rock types &copy; ZAE Bayern

In this collaboration project with the Giesserei Heunisch, the ZAE Bayern and the Fa. Küttner as plant constructor an energy storage system for discontinuous industrial waste heat recovery will be developed and tested in a pilot plant. The energy system stores the waste heat of a furnace at the foundry Heunisch. During the downtime of the furnace it allows to continue using waste heat for process/space heating and process cooling. This will be achieved through the use of innovative technologies in the field of heat storage (up to 300 ° C) and heat transformation and its effective linkage with heat sinks and sources controlled by a higher-level energy management system.

High temperature heat storage is the core of the system

In the collaboration project the development and implementation of an innovative energy storage system for recovering discontinuous industrial waste heat is planned. The Core component of the system is a high temperature heat storage (up to 300 ° C). This should be realized as a so-called dual-media thermal energy storage with a packed bed in direct contact with a heat transfer medium. This non pressurized design offers considerable advantages over alternative storage concepts (e.g. pressurized water storage or thermal oil -storage ) especially in terms of manufacturing costs by using inexpensive solid materials as packed bed (e.g. rock). Another focus of the project is the adaptation of an absorption heat pump for operating with thermal oil as heat transfer medium. This heat pump provides process cooling and space heating at various temperatures. Thereby the stored waste heat can be used in different ways.

During the development phase of the energy system and its components the economic viability and durability plays a decisive role. During the testing phase under real running conditions the economic evaluation of system will be focused.

The project is divided into 4 phases: concept and development phase, implementation and commissioning, testing phase, assessment phase. Currently, the project is in the design and development phase. The implementation and commissioning is expected to start at the end of 2014.

Sub-projects: Development, adaption and testing

Development and test of the high temperature thermal energy storage
At the ZAE Bayern laboratory tests are carried out for develop the high temperature thermal energy storage. For the identification of suitable solid materials a test facility to determine the chemical stability and thermal cycle stability is necessary. A thermal storage test facility to investigate the influence of solid materials on packed bed density, pressure drop and the characteristic of the thermal storage system in terms of performance and capacity is also planned. Open questions for example: how to fill in the packed bed, system for loading and unloading, how to control volume expansion / thermal stresses will be locked at and discussed and technical solutions will be developed.

Adaptation absorption chiller / heat pump
The absorption heat pump will be driven by thermal oil as heat transfer medium instead of hot water, steam or flue gas. Because of this, both the concept of the heat exchange in the absorption heat pump and the dimensions of the required heat exchanger must be adapted. In addition to this the absorption heat pump needs to be adjusted at the required temperature levels (cooling mode: ~5 °C, re-cooling at about 40 °C, heating mode: ~85 °C, low temperature source at about 30 °C).

Testing the energy system under real operating conditions
After the commissioning of the energy storage system the testing of the demonstration plant starts under real operating conditions. During this phase of the project a continuous technical and scientific support of the plant takes place. Based on a monitoring system the energy storage system will be analyzed. The aim is an ecological / economic assessment of demonstration plant as well as the identification of optimization potential and their implementation respectively the identification of further research and development aspects.

Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

no news in this list.

Addresses

Coordinator
  • Richard Gurtner
    ZAE Bayern - Bayrisches Zentrum für Angewandte Energieforschung e. V.
Other Addresses

Infobox

Research funding

The information system EnArgus provides information on research funding, including on this project (German only).

ACTEnglish version
Thermischer Speicher
BMWi
Industrielle Abwärmenutzung 12.4.2017

Die Abbildung zeigt Feststoffproben zur Bestimmung der Wärmekapazität.
© ZAE Bayern

Gießerei nutzt Abwärme des Schmelzofens

In der Industrie, beispielsweise in Gießereien oder in der Zementindustrie, kann durch die Nutzung der entstehenden Abwärme der Energieeinsatz erheblich gesenkt werden. Wissenschaftler erproben im Verbundprojekt „IAST“ ein Speichersystem, welches die Abwärme eines Gießerei-Schmelzofens nutzen soll. Die Inbetriebnahme der Demonstrationsanlage ist für Ende 2014 geplant.

Projektstatus Entwicklung
Speichereffekt Temperarturänderung (sensible Wärme); Feststoffspeicher im Direktkontakt mit Wärmeträger
Entwicklungsgegenstand Speichermedium, Stahl-Speicherkonstruktion
Temperaturtyp Hochtemperatur
Speicherung/Ladung Direkt
Speicherzeit Kurz (Stunden bis Tage)
Zyklenzahl Täglich
Ladetemperatur (-bereich) Bis 300 °C
Entladetemperatur (-bereich) Entsprechend Abnehmer
Speicherkapazität 10 MWh
Energiespeicherdichte 0,6 kWh/m³K
Projektlaufzeit Juni 2013 bis November 2018

In energieintensiven Industrien – unter anderem Gießereiwesen oder Zementindustrie – kann durch die Nutzung von Abwärme beispielsweise als Prozess- oder Heizwärme der Energieeinsatz erheblich gesenkt und somit der Verbrauch an Primärenergie und der damit verbundene Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen reduziert werden. Hierbei stellt insbesondere die Nutzung von diskontinuierlicher Abwärme (bei >100 °C) durch Speicherung ein bereits häufig diskutiertes und theoretisch betrachtetes Feld dar, in dem es jedoch bisher nur sehr vereinzelt zu industriellen Anwendungen gekommen ist. Hauptgrund hierfür sind die hohen Investitionskosten verfügbarer Speichertechnologien für den Einsatz bei Temperaturen über 100 °C. Ein weiterer Grund sind zudem die vergleichsweise geringen Energiekosten für Gas und Strom im Bereich der energieintensiven Industrie. Kommt hierzu eine niedrige Zyklenzahl von Be- und Entladung des Speichers, ist ein wirtschaftlicher Betrieb kaum zu erreichen. Die Entwicklung günstiger Speicher, die Erschließung möglichst vieler Abwärme-Quellen sowie die Identifikation potenzieller Wärmeabnehmer und deren intelligente Verknüpfung durch ein Energiesystem ist daher Grundvoraussetzung für eine wirtschaftliche Abwärme-Nutzung durch thermische Energiespeicherung.

  • Der Ausschnitt der Grafik zeigt den Temperaturverlauf der nutzbaren Abwärme der Gießerei Heunisch. © ZAE Bayern
  • Zu sehen ist der Einfluss der Feststoffschüttung (FSS) auf Kosten und Speicherkapazität im Vergleich zu einem konventionellen Thermoölspeicher. © ZAE Bayern
  • Die Skizze zeigt das Prinzip eines Zweistoffspeichers. © ZAE Bayern
  • Die Abbildung zeigt Feststoffproben zur Bestimmung der Wärmekapazität. © ZAE Bayern
  • Unterschiedliche Gesteinsarten werden einer Messung zur Wärmeleitfähigkeit unterzogen. © ZAE Bayern

Im Rahmen dieses Verbundprojektes zwischen der Gießerei Heunisch, des ZAE Bayern und dem Gießerei-Anlagenbauer Küttner wird ein Energiespeichersystem zur Nutzung diskontinuierlicher industrieller Abwärme entwickelt und in einer Demonstrationsanlage erprobt. Das Energiespeichersystem soll die Abwärme des Schmelzofens der Gießerei (Kupolofen) speichern, um diese während der Stillstandzeiten des Ofens weiter zur Bereitstellung von Prozess-/Heizwärme und Prozesskälte nutzen zu können. Erreicht werden soll dies durch den Einsatz innovativer Technologien im Bereich der Wärmespeicherung (bis 300 °C) und Wärmetransformation und deren effiziente Verknüpfung mit Wärmesenken und -quellen, gesteuert durch ein übergeordnetes Energiemanagementsystem.

Hochtemperatur-Wärmespeicher ist Kern des Systems

Im Rahmen dieses Verbundvorhabens ist die Entwicklung und Umsetzung eines innovativen Energiespeichersystems zur Nutzung von diskontinuierlicher, industrieller Abwärme geplant. Kernkomponente des Systems stellt ein Hochtemperatur-Wärmespeicher (einsetzbar bis 300 °C) dar. Dieser soll als sogenannter Zweistoffspeicher ausgeführt werden. Hierbei wird eine Feststoffschüttung (FSS) im Direktkontakt von einer Wärmeträgerflüssigkeit umströmt. Dieses drucklose Konzept verspricht erhebliche Vorteile gegenüber alternativen Speicherkonzepten (z. B. Druckwasserspeicher oder Thermoölspeicher) insbesondere in Bezug auf die Herstellungskosten durch die Verwendung kostengünstiger Feststoffschüttungen, z. B. aus Gestein. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des Verbundvorhabens liegt auf der Anpassung einer Absorptionswärmepumpe (AWP) auf den Betrieb mit Thermoöl als Wärmeträger. Diese dient zur Bereitstellung von Prozesskälte sowie zur Bereitstellung von Heizwärme bei großem Hub. Die gespeicherte Abwärme kann dadurch vielfältig zur Bereitstellung von Prozesskälte, zum Antrieb der AWP, zum Heizen und zur Brauchwasserbereitung genutzt werden.

Bei der Entwicklung des Energiesystems und ihren Komponenten spielt die Wirtschaftlichkeit und Dauerhaftigkeit eine maßgebende Rolle. Während der Erprobung des Energiespeichersystems unter realen Betriebsbedingungen steht daher die wirtschaftliche Bewertung des Systems im Fokus. 

Das Projekt unterteilt sich in vier Phasen: Konzept- und Entwicklungsphase, Umsetzung und Inbetriebnahme, Erprobungsphase und Bewertungsphase. Derzeit befindet sich das Projekt in der Konzept- und Entwicklungsphase. Die Umsetzung und Inbetriebnahme beginnt voraussichtlich Ende 2014 .

Teilvorhaben: Entwicklung, Anpassung und Erprobung

Entwicklung und Test Hochtemperaturspeicher
Für die Entwicklung des thermischen Speichers werden am ZAE Bayern im Vorfeld Laboruntersuchungen vorgenommen. Zur Identifikation von geeigneten Feststoffschüttungen  als Speicherfüllmaterial ist ein geeigneter Teststand zur Ermittlung der chemischen Beständigkeit und  Zyklen-Festigkeit notwendig. Ein Speicherteststand zur Untersuchung des Einflusses von Feststoffschüttungen, so zum Beispiel der: Schüttungsart, Schüttungsgröße/-form, Schüttungsdichte, Beschaffenheit der Schüttungsoberfläche, Druckverlust bei Durchströmen mit Thermoöl auf die Charakteristik des thermischen Speichers in Bezug auf Leistung, Kapazität und Schichtungsverhalten ist darüber hinaus geplant. Offene Fragen, zum Bau eines Pilotspeichers, so zum Beispiel zu: Methoden zur Speicher-Befüllung, System zur Be- und Entladung (Wärmeein- und -auskopplung), Beherrschung der Volumenausdehnung/thermische Spannungen, sollen mithilfe des Testspeichers erörtert und technische Lösungen erarbeitet werden.

Anpassung Absorptionskältemaschine/-wärmepumpe
Die Notwendigkeit der Anpassung der Absorptionswärmepumpe betrifft zum einen die neuartige Zufuhr der Antriebswärme durch einen Thermoölmassenstrom anstelle von Heißwasser, Dampf oder Rauchgas. Hierbei muss sowohl das Konzept der Wärmeübertragung in der Absorptionswärmepumpe als auch die Dimensionierung des benötigten Wärmeübertragers angepasst werden. Zum anderen muss die Absorptionswärmepumpe an die geforderten Temperaturniveaus bei der Bereitstellung der Kälte (ca. 5 °C, Rückkühlung bei ca. 40 °C) und Wärme (ca. 85 °C), Niedertemperaturquelle (bei ca. 30 °C) angepasst werden.

Erprobung des Energiesystems unter realen Betriebsbedingungen
Nach der Inbetriebnahme des Energiespeichersystems beginnt die Erprobung der Demonstrationsanlage unter realen Betriebsbedingungen. Während dieser Projektphase erfolgt eine kontinuierliche, intensive technische sowie wissenschaftliche Betreuung der Anlage. Basierend auf einem Monitoring erfolgt die Analyse des Energiespeichersystems. Ziel hierbei ist eine ökologische und ökonomische Bewertung der Demonstrationsanlage sowie die Identifikation von Optimierungspotentialen und deren Umsetzung bzw. die Identifikation des hierfür weiter notwendigen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarfs.

Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

5. Juli 2017
Thermische Energiespeicher

11. Juli 2017
Intersolar North America

22. August 2017
Intersolar South America

» Alle Termine

Projektadressen

Ansprechpartner
  • Richard Gurtner
    ZAE Bayern - Bayrisches Zentrum für Angewandte Energieforschung e. V.
Weitere Adressen

Infobox

Forschungsförderung

Das Informationssystem EnArgus bietet Angaben zur Forschungsförderung, so auch zu diesem Projekt.