Deutsche Version  ACT
Electrical Storage
BMWi
Battery fuel cell drive 8.11.2016

In the ELAAN project, a type T-1250 LADOG vehicle is being equipped as a demonstration vehicle with fuel cell and battery technology with a range extender.
© LADOG-Fahrzeugbau und Vertriebs-GmbH

Hybrid power supply for municipal vehicles

Which electricity storage system will be used in future to drive and work electric municipal vehicles? The scientists in the ELAAN project are testing this and are combining the advantages of batteries with those of a fuel cell range extender. They are testing the concept on a demonstration vehicle with previously developed components that include the battery module, fuel cell subsystem, electric motor and associated power electronics. The demo vehicle is scheduled to be completed in spring 2017.

Project status Development of the sub-modules and vehicle integration
Project duration October 2013 until June 2017

Municipal utility and work vehicles for logistics, horticulture, road construction as well as waste disposal, clearing and street cleaning services pose considerable dynamic power requirements for the drive during the driving operation. In order to electrically operate such vehicles, the power storage system must be efficient, durable and quickly rechargeable. In the ELAAN project (Electric drive train for work and commercial vehicles), the scientists are combining a battery system with a fuel cell that acts as an emission-free range extender. The researchers are integrating the innovative drive system into the drive platform of a type T-1250 LADOG commercial vehicle. This shall be used to gain experience during everyday operations until the end of the project.

Development goals

The decisive advantages of electric drives include their local zero emission and the significantly lower noise emission. Especially municipal vehicles are driven and used in city centres, including in pedestrian zones. Here the regulatory provisions are becoming increasingly stringent, which means that appropriate systems are required, as are being developed in ELAAN. The range extender, battery, power electronics and motor are being designed and simulated based on the typical load profiles for utility and work vehicles, and are being optimised during operation. It is intended to standardise the electrical and mechanical interfaces taking existing standards into account.

The system is planned to enable a refuelling time of less than three minutes and be more compact and lighter than a purely battery-powered power supply. At the same time, the service life, performance and operating range are intended to correspond to that of a conventionally operated vehicle. The detailed analysis of the load requirement profile for dimensioning the individual components resulted in an engine power of 60 kW, a fuel cell power of 20 kW and a nominal battery capacity of around 5 kWh.

Industry, SMEs and science involved

The drive system is being developed by the medium-sized industrial companies ElringKlinger, Heinzmann and LADOG Fahrzeugbau. The Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE is providing the scientific support. The future vehicle integration is being realised by LADOG and the project partners ElringKlinger and Heinzmann are supplying the engine, fuel cell and battery pack as the value-adding components. As an associated partner, Fronius International is designing the fuel cell system and the power electronics for electrical integration in the LADOG vehicle.

A transferable model is being developed

Optimum tuning of the electric motor including the inverter, battery and range extender with simultaneous decoupling of the traction and hydraulic drive is intended to further exploit the efficiency potential than was previously realised in projects. The optimisation shall be enabled by means of a model-based design that describes the essential elements of the drive system. The model will be able to simulate the optimal constellation of a modular drive unit for any application and determine an efficient operating strategy.

Project partners

  • LADOG is the project partner for integrating the electric drive within the entire drive train as well as for integrating the subsystems within the vehicle.
  • ElringKlinger is developing the battery and fuel cell modules taking into account both the application specifications, such as typical load profiles and cold starts, and the installation situation.
  • Heinzmann is developing the electric motor and is selecting and adapting suitable motor controllers.
  • On the research side, Fraunhofer ISE is supporting the two different battery and fuel cell development areas.
  • Fronius International is developing the power electronics and control system for the fuel cell range extender and is carrying out the system integration of the fuel cell, battery and hydrogen storage unit.
Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

no news in this list.

Addresses

Coordinator
Other Addresses

Infobox

Research funding

The information system EnArgus provides information on research funding, including on this project (German only).

ACTEnglish version
Elektrischer Speicher
BMWi
Batterie-Brennstoffzellenantrieb 8.11.2016

Im ELAAN-Projekt wird ein LADOG-Fahrzeug Typ T-1250 mit Brennstoffzelle und Batterietechnik mit Range-Extender ausgestattet zum Demonstrationsfahrzeug.
© LADOG-Fahrzeugbau und Vertriebs-GmbH

Hybride Stromversorgung für kommunale Fahrzeuge

Mit welchem Stromspeicher fahren und arbeiten kommunale Fahrzeuge künftig elektrisch? Das testen Wissenschaftler im Projekt ELAAN und kombinieren die Vorteile von Batterien mit denen eines Brennstoffzellen-Range-Extenders. Sie erproben das Konzept an einem Demonstrationsfahrzeug mit den bereits entwickelten Komponenten Batteriemodul, Brennstoffzellen-Subsystem, Elektromotor und zugehöriger Leistungselektronik. Das Demo-Fahrzeug soll im Frühjahr 2017 fertig sein.

Projektstatus Aufbau der Submodule und Fahrzeugintegration
Projektlaufzeit Oktober 2013 bis Juni 2017

Kommunale Nutz- und Arbeitsfahrzeuge für Logistik, Garten- und Straßenbau, Abfallentsorgung, Räumdienste und Stadtreinigung stellen während des Fahrbetriebs hohe dynamische Leistungsanforderungen an den Antrieb. Um solche Fahrzeuge elektrisch zu betreiben, muss der Stromspeicher leistungsstark, ausdauernd und schnell aufladbar sein. In dem Projekt ELAAN (Elektrischer Antriebsstrang für Arbeits- und Nutzfahrzeuge) kombinieren die Wissenschaftler ein Batteriesystem mit einer Brennstoffzelle, die als emissionsfreier Range-Extender dient. Das innovative Antriebssystem integrieren die Forscher in die Antriebsplattform eines LADOG-Nutzfahrzeugs vom Typ T-1250. Mit diesem sollen zum Projektende Erfahrungen im Alltagsbetrieb gesammelt werden.

Entwicklungsziele

Entscheidende Vorteile des elektrischen Antriebs ist die Nullemission vor Ort sowie die deutlich geringere Lärmemission. Gerade Kommunalfahrzeuge fahren und arbeiten  in den Innenstädten und teilweise auch in Fußgängerzonen. Hier werden die regulatorischen Vorschriften immer weiter verschärft, sodass entsprechende Systeme gefordert sind, wie sie in ELAAN entwickelt werden. Range-Extender, Batterie, Leistungselektronik und Motor werden simulationsgestützt auf typische Lastprofile von Nutz- und Arbeitsfahrzeugen ausgelegt und in der Betriebsführung darauf optimiert. Die elektrischen und mechanischen Schnittstellen sollen unter Berücksichtigung bereits vorhandener Standards vereinheitlicht werden.

Das System soll eine Betankungszeit von weniger als drei Minuten ermöglichen und kompakter und leichter sein als eine rein batterieelektrische Versorgung. Gleichzeitig sollen Einsatzdauer, Leistungsfähigkeit und Arbeitsspektrum der des konventionell betriebenen Fahrzeuges entsprechen. Die detaillierte Analyse des Lastanforderungsprofils ergab für Dimensionierung der einzelnen Komponenten: eine Motorleistung von 60 kW, eine Brennstoffzellenleistung von 20 kW sowie eine nominelle Batteriekapazität von rund 5 kWh.

Industrie, Mittelstand und Wissenschaft beteiligt

Das Antriebssystem entwickeln die mittelständische Unternehmen und Industriefirmen ElringKlinger, Heinzmann sowie LADOG Fahrzeugbau. Die wissenschaftliche Unterstützung leistet das Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE. Die zukünftige Fahrzeugintegration realisiert LADOG, die wertschöpfenden Komponenten Motor, Brennstoffzelle und Batteriepack liefern die Projektpartner ElringKlinger und Heinzmann. Das Unternehmen Fronius International konzipiert als assoziierter Partner das Brennstoffzellensystem sowie die Leistungselektronik zur elektrischen Integration in das LADOG-Fahrzeug.

Ein übertragbares Modell wird entwickelt

Die optimale Abstimmung von Elektromotor samt Inverter, Batterie und Range-Extender bei gleichzeitiger Endkopplung von Fahr- und Hydraulikantrieb soll das Effizienzpotenzial weiter ausschöpfen als es bisher in Projekten realisiert wurde. Die Optimierung soll durch eine modellbasierte Auslegung möglich sein, welche die wesentlichen Elemente des Antriebsystems beschreibt. Das Modell wird in der Lage sein, für beliebige Anwendungen die optimale Konstellation einer modularen Antriebseinheit zu simulieren und eine effiziente Betriebsstrategie zu ermitteln.

Projektpartner

  • LADOG ist Projektpartner für die Integration des Elektroantriebs in den gesamten Antriebsstrang sowie für die Fahrzeugintegration der Subsysteme.
  • ElringKlinger entwickelt Batterie- und Brennstoffzellenmodule unter Berücksichtigung der Einsatzspezifika wie typischer Lastprofile und Kaltstart und unter Berücksichtigung der Einbausituation.
  • Heinzmann entwickelt den Elektromotor und wählt und adaptiert geeignete Motor-Controller.
  • Das Fraunhofer ISE unterstützt forschungsseitig die beiden unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsrichtungen Batterie und Brennstoffzelle.
  • Fronius International entwickelt die Leistungselektronik und Steuerung für den Brennstoffzellen Range-Extender und führt die Systemintegration von Brennstoffzelle, Batterie und Wasserstoffspeicher durch.
Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

29. November 2017
RENEXPO® PV & StromSpeicher

5. Dezember 2017
Intersolar India

24. Januar 2018
6. Batterieforum Deutschland

» Alle Termine

Projektadressen

Ansprechpartner
Weitere Adressen

Infobox

Forschungsförderung

Das Informationssystem EnArgus bietet Angaben zur Forschungsförderung, so auch zu diesem Projekt.