Deutsche Version  ACT
Overarching Themes | BMWi
Wind-hyrogen systems 12.4.2017

Temporarily store excess wind in hydrogen

How can surplus wind energy be stored efficiently in the form of hydrogen in a large scale? Scientists consider the value chain from a technical and economic point of view in the project WESpe. The Analysis includes electrolysis, underground storage facilities and the connection to gas grids. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
ENABEL: PEM electrolyser 12.4.2017

Power gap filler in the megawatt class

In the project "Stromlückenfüller" Researchers investigate a power-to-gas-to-power concept. The aim is to buffer excess solar and wind power in the form of hydrogen. For the conversion, the researchers are developing a PEM electrolyzer stack for a rated input power of one megawatt. The electrolyzer combines with a hydrogen storage and biogas technology giving an efficient storage system. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 12.4.2017

Fridges with latent heat storage

Researchers are studying the economic and technical potential of refrigerators with phase change materials as a sliding load in the electrical network. The aim is to demonstrate the feasibility and advantages and to determine the costs. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Large-scale hot water storage tanks 12.4.2017

Segmental design reduces costs of storage tanks

Large-scale hot water storage tanks have proved to be reliable and efficient heat storage for cogeneration as well as for solar thermal plants and industrial processes. As part of the research project OBSERW, scientists try to reduce the construction costs of such storage tanks. To accomplish this goal they develop a segmental design for aboveground storage tanks from 500 to 8.000 m³ volumetric capacity. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
Flywheel energy storage systems 12.4.2017

New design reduces system costs

Flywheel energy storage systems can play an important role in stabilising the electricity grid. When required, they provide high outputs within milliseconds. The short-term electricity storage systems also act as active voltage filters for optimising the electricity quality. In the KoREV-SMS project, scientists are developing a flywheel energy storage system with an external rotor design. This results in a higher energy density with lower acquisition costs compared to conventional flywheel energy storage systems. .

.. more


Electrical Storage | BMWi
Energy storage flywheels 12.4.2017

Faster power storage with high cycle rate

Energy storage flywheels as short-term intermediate storage for regenerative energy generation systems can help keep the power grid stable. With good efficiency, they absorb or emit high power levels – while at the same time having an extremely durable cycle. In the ENERSPHERE project, scientists are working on a flywheel rotor with a superconducting bearing. This makes it extremely intrinsically safe and robust. .

.. more


Physical Storage | BMWi
Phase-change material (PCM) 11.4.2017

Increase dynamism with three-dimensional wire mesh

To equip modular storage units for a temperature range of 150 to 350 degrees Celsius and achieve high energy and power densities at the same time, is the declared aim of the researchers in the MOSPEDRA-project. The scientists first need to increase the dynamics of the memory modules. They want to achieve with a new metallic thermal wire mesh, which is embedded in a phase-change material. ... more


Electrical Storage | BMBF
Lithium-ion batteries 11.4.2017

New generation of lithium-ion batteries

A young research group investigated aqueous electrolytes based on lithium-ion batteries for intermediate storage of electrical energy. The young researchers are developing new coatings and electrolytes for the stabilization of the active components. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 18.1.2017

Increasing efficiency of power plants and electric arc steelworks

How can energy efficiency in industry and thermal power

plants be increased by using thermal energy storages? Researchers are studying

the integration of thermal storage in different industrial and CHP processes.

The focus is on high temperature storages with a storage temperature above 200

°C. A highlight of the project TESIN is the development, design, build,

commissioning and operation of a latent heat storage unit in the operating CHP

plant in Wellesweiler, Saarland of STEAG New Energies. ... more


Overarching Themes | BMWi
Simulation and planning tool 9.1.2017

Bundling storage in the cloud

Scientists did research how battery storage systems can be optimally operated and the supply network supported as part of the green2store project. The aim is to bundle decentralised storage systems in a virtual cloud and make them accessible to various players. ... more


Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

no news in this list.

ACTEnglish version
Übergeordnetes | BMWi
Wind-Wasserstoff-Systeme 12.4.2017

Überschüssigen Wind in Wasserstoff zwischenspeichern

Wie lässt sich überschüssige Windenergie im energiewirtschaftlichen Maßstab als Wasserstoff zwischenspeichern? Dieser Frage gehen Forscher im Projekt WESpe auf den Grund. Dazu betrachten die Wissenschaftler die Wertschöpfungskette, angefangen bei der Elektrolysetechnologie, über die Untergrundgasspeicherung bis zur Gasnetzanbindung aus technischer und ökonomischer Sicht. ... mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
ENABEL: PEM-Elektrolyse 12.4.2017

Stromlückenfüller der Megawattklasse

Im Projekt „Stromlückenfüller“ realisieren Forscher ein Power-to-Gas-to-Power-Konzept zur mittel- bis langfristigen Zwischenspeicherung von überschüssigem Solar- und Windstrom in Form von Wasserstoff. Für die Umwandlung entwickeln die Forscher ein PEM-Elektrolyse-Stack für eine Nenn-Eingangsleistung von einem Megawatt. In Kombination mit einem Wasserstoffspeicher und der Biogastechnologie entsteht so ein effizientes Speichersystem. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 12.4.2017

Kühlschrank mit Latentwärmespeicher

Forscher untersuchen das wirtschaftliche und technische Potenzial von Kühlgeräten mit Phasenwechselspeicher als verschiebbare Last im elektrischen Netz. Ziel ist es die Machbarkeit und die Vorzüge gegenüber anderen Speichertechnologien zur Stromspeicherung zu demonstrieren sowie deren Speicherkosten zu ermitteln. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Große Warmwasserspeicher 12.4.2017

Segmentbauweise senkt Baukosten für Tankspeicher

Große Warmwasser-Tanks haben sich als effiziente und zuverlässige Wärmespeicher für die Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, in Solaranlagen und für industrielle Prozesse bewährt. Im Projekt OBSERW wollen Wissenschaftler die Baukosten solcher Speicher senken. Dazu entwickeln sie eine Segmentbauweise für oberirdische Tankspeicher mit 500 bis 8.000 Kubikmeter Fassungsvermögen. ... mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Schwungmassenspeicher 12.4.2017

Neue Bauform reduziert Systemkosten

Schwungmassenspeicher können eine wichtige Rolle zur Stabilisierung des Stromnetzes übernehmen. Innerhalb von Millisekunden stellen sie bei Bedarf hohe Leistungen zur Verfügung. Die Kurzzeit-Stromspeicher wirken zugleich als aktive Spannungsfilter zur Optimierung der Stromqualität.

Im Projekt KoREV-SMS entwickeln Wissenschaftler einen

Schwungmassenspeicher in Außenläufer-Bauform. .

.. mehr


Elektrischer Speicher | BMWi
Schwungmassenspeicher 12.4.2017

Schneller Leistungsspeicher mit hoher Zyklenzahl

Schwungmassenspeicher, sogenannte Flywheels, können als Kurzzeit-Zwischenspeicher für regenerative Energieerzeugungsanlagen helfen, das Stromnetz stabil zu halten. Sie nehmen bei gutem Wirkungsgrad hohe Leistungen auf oder geben sie ab – und sind dabei außerordentlich zyklenfest. Im Projekt ENERSPHERE arbeiten Wissenschaftler an einem Flywheel-Rotor mit einer supraleitenden Lagerung. Das macht ihn außerordentlich eigensicher und robust. .

.. mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Phasenwechselmaterial 11.4.2017

Dreidimensionales Drahtgeflecht steigert Dynamik

Modulare Speichereinheiten für einen Temperaturbereich von 150 bis 350 Grad Celsius rüsten und gleichzeitig hohe Energie- und Leistungsdichten erreichen, ist das erklärte Ziel der Forscher im Projekt MOSPEDRA. Dazu müssen die Wissenschaftler zunächst die Dynamik der Speichermodule steigern. Das wollen sie mit einer neuen metallischen Wärmeleitstruktur erreichen, die in ein Phasenwechselmaterial eingebettet ist. ... mehr


Elektrischer Speicher | BMBF
Lithium-Ionen-Batterien 11.4.2017

Neue Generation von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

Eine Nachwuchsgruppe untersucht wässrige Elektrolyte, die auf Lithiumionen-Batterien zur Zwischenspeicherung elektrischer Energie basieren. Die Jungforscher entwickeln dafür neue Beschichtungen und Elektrolyte für die Stabilisierung der Aktivkomponenten. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 18.1.2017

Effizienz von Heizkraft- und Stahlwerken steigern

Wie lässt sich die Energieeffizienz in Industrie-Betrieben steigern? Forscher untersuchen dies mit einen Forschungsspeicher, der im Heizkraftwerk Wellesweiler der STEAG New Energies in einen laufenden Prozess integriert wird. Dafür analysierten sie bei den Badischen Stahlwerken die verschiedenen Integrationsmöglichkeiten von Energiespeichern, definierten ein Referenzkonzept und untersuchten dessen Marktpotenzial. ... mehr


Übergeordnetes | BMWi
Simulations- und Planungstools 9.1.2017

Speicher in der Wolke bündeln

Wie Batteriespeicher optimal betrieben werden und das Versorgungsnetz unterstützen, erforschten Wissenschaftler seit Ende 2012 im Projekt green2store. Ziel ist es, dezentrale Speicher in einer sogenannten Cloud, einer virtuellen Wolke, zu bündeln und die Speicher verschiedenen Akteuren zugänglich zu machen. ... mehr


Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

24. Januar 2018
6. Batterieforum Deutschland

13. März 2018
Energy Storage Europe 2018

13. März 2018
Energiespeicher & Wärmepumpentechnologie

» Alle Termine