Deutsche Version  ACT
Focus of the funding initiative

Storing heat

In the various research networks, researchers are working on improving the components and structure of known technologies, for example, using new and less costly materials. One particular focus is on latent heat storage and sorption storage systems. The main application areas are storage for conventional and solar thermal power plants, for current-regulated CHP plants, seasonal storage for buildings, and storage facilities that simplify the management of heating networks.

Thermal Storage | BMWi
Industrial waste heat utilisation 12.4.2017

Foundry using waste heat of the furnace

In energy-intensive industries, e.g. foundry industry or cement industry, the use of waste heat for example as process or space heating energy reduces the consumption of primary energy.  In the Project “IAST” researchers are testing an energy storage system for discontinuous industrial waste heat of a furnace at a foundry. The implementation and commissioning is expected to start at the end of 2014. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Absorption-storage system 12.4.2017

Drying with open sorption processes

A junior research group investigated heat and material transfer to an aqueous solution of lithium chloride. Such salt solutions can be used for air conditioning in buildings or waste heat. At the same time it serves as an energy storage. In addition to the salt solutions young researchers testing and synthesizing new sorbents. Also system simulations for building heating and air conditioning are planned in addition to drying applications. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Sorption heat storage 12.4.2017

Sorptive heat storage using activated carbon

Activated carbon can be produced from a large variety of carbonaceous source materials. Different methods have also been established for the process steps of carbonization and activation for use in commercial applications. In the project HyAcitv researchers optimize activated carbons and in a further step, molded articles are produced for use in open sorption systems. The application of these moldings is demonstrated in a laboratory storage system. .

.. more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 12.4.2017

Pourable PCM for high temperatures

Dresden researchers develop small pourable and pumpable heat storage capsules for the temperature range from 130 to 350 ° C. The hollow spheres are made from metal alloys. Depending on the application, the diameters vary from 2 to 6 mm. The capsules contain salt mixtures for latent heat storage. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Chemical heat storage 12.4.2017

More efficiency through bulk movement

Chemical heat storage with Calziumoxid is being tested by Scientists of the DLR in the project BERTI. As a special feature, the laboratory unit of Stuttgart researchers has a wandering reaction bed. As a result the heat capacity of the storage and its heat output can be designed independently of one another. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
PCM storage 12.4.2017

Cheaper slurries for cooling processes

In order to reduce the cost of PCM storages, scientists develop new slurries and materials for cold storages. The aim of the project KOLAN is to develop an emulsion with a very high heat capacity. At a temperature difference of 6 Kelvin it should store about four times more heat than water. ... more


Electrical Storage | BMWi
Power-heat systems 12.4.2017

Network storage with hybrid photovoltaic system

Researchers develop new strategies for the operation of hybrid photovoltaic systems in residential buildings and small businesses. For this purpose, the scientists optimize the operation management by simulations and laboratory measurements in the project INE-VES. The optimized operations management will increase the benefit of the system for the power grid, as well as for the owner. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
High temperature storage 12.4.2017

Sorption heat storage for the industry

In MoGeSoWa researchers developed an efficient, cost-effective modular heat storage. The aim was, to increase the energy efficiency of combined heat and power plants. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 12.4.2017

Fridges with latent heat storage

Researchers are studying the economic and technical potential of refrigerators with phase change materials as a sliding load in the electrical network. The aim is to demonstrate the feasibility and advantages and to determine the costs. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Large-scale hot water storage tanks 12.4.2017

Segmental design reduces costs of storage tanks

Large-scale hot water storage tanks have proved to be reliable and efficient heat storage for cogeneration as well as for solar thermal plants and industrial processes. As part of the research project OBSERW, scientists try to reduce the construction costs of such storage tanks. To accomplish this goal they develop a segmental design for aboveground storage tanks from 500 to 8.000 m³ volumetric capacity. ... more


Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

11. July 2017
Intersolar North America

22. August 2017
Intersolar South America

25. September 2017
EU PVSEC 2017

» All dates

ACTEnglish version
Schwerpunkt der Förderinitiative

Wärme speichern

In den verschiedenen Forschungsverbünden arbeiten Forscher an der Verbesserung von Komponenten und Konstruktion bekannter Technologien, zum Beispiel durch den Einsatz neuer und kostengünstigerer Materialien. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf Latentwärmespeicher und Sorptionsspeicher. Anwendungsschwerpunkte sind Speicher für konventionelle und solarthermische Kraftwerke, für stromgeführte KWK-Anlagen, saisonale Speicher für Gebäude, und Speicher, die das Management von Wärmenetze erleichtern.

Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Industrielle Abwärmenutzung 12.4.2017

Gießerei nutzt Abwärme des Schmelzofens

In der Industrie, beispielsweise in Gießereien oder in der Zementindustrie, kann durch die Nutzung der entstehenden Abwärme der Energieeinsatz erheblich gesenkt werden. Wissenschaftler erproben im Verbundprojekt „IAST“ ein Speichersystem, welches die Abwärme eines Gießerei-Schmelzofens nutzen soll. Die Inbetriebnahme der Demonstrationsanlage ist für Ende 2014 geplant. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Sorptionsspeicher 12.4.2017

Trocknung mit offenen Sorptionsprozessen

Im Projekt „Offene Absorptions-Speichersysteme zur Beheizung von

Wohngebäuden und für Lufttrocknungsanwendungen“, kurz OpenSorp,

beschäftigt sich eine Nachwuchsgruppe mit offenen Absorptionsprozessen,

bei denen Luft in einem Absorber an einer Flüssigkeit (Sorbens) entlang

strömt und durch Abgabe des Wasserdampfes (Luftfeuchte) getrocknet und

gleichzeitig erwärmt wird. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Sorptionswärmespeicher 12.4.2017

Aktivkohle für sorptive Wärmespeicher

Aktivkohle kann aus einer Vielzahl kohlenstoffhaltiger Ausgangsmateriealien hergestellt werden. Auch für die Karbonisierung und Aktivierung sind verschiedene Verfahren etabliert und im kommerziellen Einsatz. Im Projekt HyAktiv optimieren Forscher Aktivkohlen und stellen in einem weiteren Schritt Formkörper zur Verwendung in offenen Sorptionssystemen her. Anschließend wird das System im Laborspeicher getestet. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 12.4.2017

Hochtemperatur-PCM werden schüttbar

Dresdener Forscher entwickeln kleine schütt- und pumpfähige Wärmespeicherkapseln für den Temperaturbereich von 130 bis 350 Grad Celsius. Die Hohlkugeln werden aus Metall-Legierungen gefertigt und haben je nach Einsatzzweck einen Durchmesser zwischen zwei und sechs mm. Sie enthalten Salzgemische für die latente Wärmespeicherung. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Chemischer Wärmespeicher 12.4.2017

Wärme speichern in Kalk - effizienter durch Bewegung

Wissenschaftler des DLR erproben im Projekt BERTI die chemische Wärmespeicherung mit Calziumoxid. Die Laboranlage der Stuttgarter Forscher verfügt als Besonderheit über ein wanderndes Reaktionsbett. Dadurch können die Wärmekapazität des Speichers und seine Wärmeleistung unabhängig voneinander ausgelegt werden. ... mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
PCM-Speicher 12.4.2017

Günstigere Slurries für Kühlprozesse

Um die Kosten von PCM-Speichern zu senken, erforschen Wissenschaftler neue PCM-Fluide und -Materialien für Kältespeicher. Ziel des Projektes KOLAN ist es, eine Emulsion mit einer so hohen Wärmekapazität zu entwickeln, die bei einer Temperaturdifferenz von 6 Kelvin etwa vier Mal mehr Wärme speichert als Wasser. ... mehr


Elektrischer Speicher | BMWi
Strom-Wärme-Speicheranlagen 12.4.2017

Speicher mit hybridem Photovoltaiksystem vernetzen

Forscher entwerfen neue Strategien für den Betrieb von hybriden Photovoltaik-Anlagen von Wohngebäuden und kleinen Gewerbebetrieben. Im Projekt INE-VES bewerten und optimieren die Wissenschaftler dazu die Betriebsführung mit Simulationen und Messungen im Labor. Die optimierte Betriebsführung soll den Nutzen der Speicher sowohl für das Stromnetz als auch für den Anlagenbetreiber erhöhen. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Hochtemperaturspeicher 12.4.2017

Sorptiver Wärmespeicher für die Industrie

In MoGeSoWa entwickelten Forscher einen leistungsfähigen, kosteneffizienten und modular aufgebauten Wärmespeicher. Dieser soll in einer industrietauglichen Ausführung die Energieeffizienz von Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlagen steigern. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 12.4.2017

Kühlschrank mit Latentwärmespeicher

Forscher untersuchen das wirtschaftliche und technische Potenzial von Kühlgeräten mit Phasenwechselspeicher als verschiebbare Last im elektrischen Netz. Ziel ist es die Machbarkeit und die Vorzüge gegenüber anderen Speichertechnologien zur Stromspeicherung zu demonstrieren sowie deren Speicherkosten zu ermitteln. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Große Warmwasserspeicher 12.4.2017

Segmentbauweise senkt Baukosten für Tankspeicher

Große Warmwasser-Tanks haben sich als effiziente und zuverlässige Wärmespeicher für die Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, in Solaranlagen und für industrielle Prozesse bewährt. Im Projekt OBSERW wollen Wissenschaftler die Baukosten solcher Speicher senken. Dazu entwickeln sie eine Segmentbauweise für oberirdische Tankspeicher mit 500 bis 8.000 Kubikmeter Fassungsvermögen. ... mehr


Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

31. Mai 2017
Intersolar Europe 2017

31. Mai 2017
ees Europe

1. Juni 2017
8. Forum ElektroMobilität – KONGRESS

» Alle Termine