Deutsche Version  ACT
Focus of the funding initiative

Storing heat

In the various research networks, researchers are working on improving the components and structure of known technologies, for example, using new and less costly materials. One particular focus is on latent heat storage and sorption storage systems. The main application areas are storage for conventional and solar thermal power plants, for current-regulated CHP plants, seasonal storage for buildings, and storage facilities that simplify the management of heating networks.

Thermal Storage | BMWi
Large-scale hot water storage tanks 12.4.2017

Segmental design reduces costs of storage tanks

Large-scale hot water storage tanks have proved to be reliable and efficient heat storage for cogeneration as well as for solar thermal plants and industrial processes. As part of the research project OBSERW, scientists try to reduce the construction costs of such storage tanks. To accomplish this goal they develop a segmental design for aboveground storage tanks from 500 to 8.000 m³ volumetric capacity. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
Phase-change material (PCM) 11.4.2017

Increase dynamism with three-dimensional wire mesh

To equip modular storage units for a temperature range of 150 to 350 degrees Celsius and achieve high energy and power densities at the same time, is the declared aim of the researchers in the MOSPEDRA-project. The scientists first need to increase the dynamics of the memory modules. They want to achieve with a new metallic thermal wire mesh, which is embedded in a phase-change material. ... more


Overarching Themes | BMBF
Analysis 21.3.2017

Power Supply and Storage Demand in 2050

RESTORE 2050 was primarily concerned with the European power supply network of the future. Amongst other aspects, it was investigated the importance of the extension of the transmission network, storage and methods of load management for a reliable power supply based on weather dependent renewable energy sources. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Materials and components 15.3.2017

Increasing the energy density of thermal storages

Scientists optimise materials and components for soprtion-based thermal energy storages of high energy density. Sorption reservoirs for buildings currently achieve an energy density of about 130 kWh / m³. In the project MAKSORE the researchers want to achieve an effective usable volumetric energy density of at least 180 kWh / m³. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 18.1.2017

Increasing efficiency of power plants and electric arc steelworks

How can energy efficiency in industry and thermal power

plants be increased by using thermal energy storages? Researchers are studying

the integration of thermal storage in different industrial and CHP processes.

The focus is on high temperature storages with a storage temperature above 200

°C. A highlight of the project TESIN is the development, design, build,

commissioning and operation of a latent heat storage unit in the operating CHP

plant in Wellesweiler, Saarland of STEAG New Energies. ... more


Overarching Themes | BMBF
Analysis 9.1.2017

Determining the potential of the substructure

In the ANGUS+ project, scientists examine the potential for energy storage in the geological subsurface. In addition to the storage options for natural and synthetic methane, hydrogen and compressed air in caverns and porous formations, the storage of heat in the shallow subsurface is investigated. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Long-term storage 9.1.2017

Saisonal storage in aquifers

Aquifers have a large storage capacity and offer considerable potential as seasonal thermal or cooling storage systems. In a research project, researchers developed an improved storage concept for supplying heating and cooling energy to buildings and entire urban districts. For this purpose, they are combined the expertise from various specialist areas such as energy technology, geochemistry, hydrogeology, architecture and urban development. ... more


Overarching Themes | BMWi
Central energy management system 9.1.2017

City as Storage

A central

management system in a City can make electricity producers and consumers work

together. The result is a virtual energy storage for the energy system.

Scientists developed a management system that bundles cogeneration systems, heat

pumps , night storage heaters, photovoltaic batteries and other equipment. .

.. more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Composite Material 18.10.2016

Increasing the storage density with salt hydrates

How can solar energy be stored better? For optimisation purposes, scientists in the ThessaPor project are developing composite materials that store solar energy thermochemically. The composites are structured so that an inorganic salt is stored in them. This makes it possible to combine the advantages of water vapour sorption storage systems with the advantages of storage systems based on the reversible hydration of salts. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Large scale emission-free electricity storage 18.10.2016

Compressed air instead of a pumped-storage power plant

Since 2009, scientists in the joint ADELE project are investigating adiabatic compressed air storage systems with a focus on turbo machines, thermal storage systems and caverns. In the ADELE-ING follow-up project, researchers are now comparing the various process versions. This is intended to drive forward the basic and detail engineering required for a preliminary demonstration plant and act as an investment basis. ... more


Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

no news in this list.

ACTEnglish version
Schwerpunkt der Förderinitiative

Wärme speichern

In den verschiedenen Forschungsverbünden arbeiten Forscher an der Verbesserung von Komponenten und Konstruktion bekannter Technologien, zum Beispiel durch den Einsatz neuer und kostengünstigerer Materialien. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf Latentwärmespeicher und Sorptionsspeicher. Anwendungsschwerpunkte sind Speicher für konventionelle und solarthermische Kraftwerke, für stromgeführte KWK-Anlagen, saisonale Speicher für Gebäude, und Speicher, die das Management von Wärmenetze erleichtern.

Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Große Warmwasserspeicher 12.4.2017

Segmentbauweise senkt Baukosten für Tankspeicher

Große Warmwasser-Tanks haben sich als effiziente und zuverlässige Wärmespeicher für die Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, in Solaranlagen und für industrielle Prozesse bewährt. Im Projekt OBSERW wollen Wissenschaftler die Baukosten solcher Speicher senken. Dazu entwickeln sie eine Segmentbauweise für oberirdische Tankspeicher mit 500 bis 8.000 Kubikmeter Fassungsvermögen. ... mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Phasenwechselmaterial 11.4.2017

Dreidimensionales Drahtgeflecht steigert Dynamik

Modulare Speichereinheiten für einen Temperaturbereich von 150 bis 350 Grad Celsius rüsten und gleichzeitig hohe Energie- und Leistungsdichten erreichen, ist das erklärte Ziel der Forscher im Projekt MOSPEDRA. Dazu müssen die Wissenschaftler zunächst die Dynamik der Speichermodule steigern. Das wollen sie mit einer neuen metallischen Wärmeleitstruktur erreichen, die in ein Phasenwechselmaterial eingebettet ist. ... mehr


Übergeordnetes | BMBF
Analyse 21.3.2017

Stromversorgung und Speicherbedarf im Jahr 2050

Im Projekt RESTORE 2050 untersuchten Forscher das künftige, europäische Stromverbundsystem. Die Wissenschaftler befassten sich unter anderem mit der Bedeutung des Übertragungsnetzausbaus, Speichern und Methoden des Lastmanagements für eine stabile Energieversorgung mit wetterabhängigen, erneuerbaren Energien. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Materialien und Komponenten 15.3.2017

Energiedichte von Wärmespeichern erhöhen

Wissenschaftler entwickeln Materialien und Komponenten für Wärmespeicher mit hoher Energiedichte weiter auf Basis von Sorptionsprozessen, also von Adsorption und Absorption. Bisher realisierte Sorptionsspeicher für Gebäude erreichen eine Energiedichte von rund 130 kWh/m³. Die Forscher wollen im Projekt MAKSORE eine effektiv nutzbare volumetrische Energiedichte von mindestens 180 kWh/m³ erreichen. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 18.1.2017

Effizienz von Heizkraft- und Stahlwerken steigern

Wie lässt sich die Energieeffizienz in Industrie-Betrieben steigern? Forscher untersuchen dies mit einen Forschungsspeicher, der im Heizkraftwerk Wellesweiler der STEAG New Energies in einen laufenden Prozess integriert wird. Dafür analysierten sie bei den Badischen Stahlwerken die verschiedenen Integrationsmöglichkeiten von Energiespeichern, definierten ein Referenzkonzept und untersuchten dessen Marktpotenzial. ... mehr


Übergeordnetes | BMBF
Analyse 9.1.2017

Potenzial des Untergrundes ermitteln

Im Projekt ANGUS+ gehen Wissenschaftler der Frage nach, welches Potenzial unterirdische Speicher haben. Neben der Speicherung von natürlichem und künstlichem Erdgas, Wasserstoff und Druckluft in Kavernen- bzw. Porenspeichern wird auch die Speicherung von Wärme im oberflächennahen Untergrund betrachtet. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Langzeitwärmespeicher 9.1.2017

Saisonale Wärmespeicherung in Aquiferen

Aquifere haben eine hohe Speicherkapazität und besitzen ein großes Potenzial als saisonaler Wärme- oder Kältespeicher. In einem Forschungsprojekt entwickelten Forscher nun verbesserte Speicherkonzepte für die Wärme- und Kälteversorgung von Gebäuden und ganzer Stadtquartiere. Dazu verknüpften sie die Kompetenzen verschiedener Fachgebiete wie der Energietechnik, der Geochemie und Hydrogeologie, der Architektur und des Städtebaus. ... mehr


Übergeordnetes | BMWi
Zentrales Energiemanagement 9.1.2017

Die Stadt als Speicher

Wenn Stromerzeuger und Verbraucher einer Stadt über ein zentrales Managementsystem zusammenarbeiten, entsteht durch Verschiebepotenziale ein virtueller Energiespeicher für das Energiesystem. Ein Konsortium aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und kommunaler Unternehmen entwickelte im Projekt „Stadt als Speicher“ ein Managementsystem, das KWK-Anlagen, Wärmepumpen, Nachtspeicherheizungen, PV-Batterien und weitere Anlagen bündelt. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Komposit-Materialien 18.10.2016

Speicherdichte mit Salzhydraten erhöhen

Wie lässt sich Solarenergie besser speichern? Zur Optimierung entwickeln Wissenschaftler im Projekt ThessaPor dafür Komposit-Materialien, die thermochemisch Solarenergie speichern. Die Komposite sind so strukturiert, dass ein anorganisches Salz eingelagert ist. Dadurch können die Vorteile von Wasserdampf-Sorptionsspeichern sowie von Speichern, die auf reversibler Hydration von Salzen beruhen, kombiniert werden. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Emissionsfreier Großspeicher 18.10.2016

Druckluft- statt Pumpspeicher

Seit 2009 untersuchen Wissenschaftler im ADELE-Verbundprojekt adiabate Druckluftspeicher mit Fokus auf Turbomaschine, Wärmespeicher und Kaverne. Im Anschlussvorhaben ADELE-ING vergleichen Forscher nun Verfahrensvarianten miteinander. Zusätzlich werden neue teiladiabate Prozessvarianten und herunterskalierte Anlagenkonfigurationen entwickelt, die einen früheren Markteintritt ermöglichen. ... mehr


Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

23. Oktober 2017
E-Mobility Power System Integration Symposium

24. Oktober 2017
Wirtschaftliche Energiespeicher

7. November 2017
Energiespeicher & Wärmepumpentechnologie

» Alle Termine