Deutsche Version  ACT
Focus of the funding initiative

Storing heat

In the various research networks, researchers are working on improving the components and structure of known technologies, for example, using new and less costly materials. One particular focus is on latent heat storage and sorption storage systems. The main application areas are storage for conventional and solar thermal power plants, for current-regulated CHP plants, seasonal storage for buildings, and storage facilities that simplify the management of heating networks.

Physical Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 1.10.2015

Waste heat used for production of precast concrete

Researchers develop new components in the project ENBELAT. To use the hydration heat they provide concrete precast molds with a heat recovery and save the heat in a latent heat storage. This increases the quality and helps the energy consumption to be reduced 45 percent. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Thermochemical solid heat accumulators 1.2.2016

Heat storage in smallest volume

Thermochemical heat storage can achieve low cost because of its higher specific energy density as compared with conventional heat storage materials. However, the thermal conductivity of the material is limited. Therefore, scientists at the Fraunhofer UMSICHT developed new thermochemical storage materials. The researchers intend to increase the thermal conductivity of solids, specifically through the addition of special additives. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 2.2.2016

New economical phase change material

Scientists at the University of Bayreuth are optimizing mobile latent heat storages. In the project MALATrans they improve charging and discharging capacity of the heat storages and analyse how the manufacturing costs can be reduced. The phase change materials they are working with are macroencapsulated. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Composites 16.2.2016

Active coatings for heat storage

The young researcher group NEOTHERM constructs novel sorptive heat storage materials for better use of solar heat for domestic heating and the reuse of industrial waste heat. For this purpose the scale-up of suitable materials is investigated. The products could be implemented in solar thermal energy systems or in waste heat recovery devices. Special composites could also be used in heat pump applications for air conditioning. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Salthydrates 14.3.2016

Cooling of buildings using new salthydrates

In the project PC-Cools_V two new phase change materials (PCM) on a salthydrate basis with a narrow melting range around 21°C and around 15°C are developed. The latter was intended for the implementation in central cold storages whereas the PCM melting at 21°C was designed for a decentral, room integrated storage application, especially cooling ceilings. ... more


Overarching Themes | BMWi
Study 31.3.2016

Energy Storage Systems in 2030

Which system infrastructure is most economic for the supply system? What will be the storage requirement in 2030? These questions addressed by scientists in the Merit Order study. For this purpose they recorded the characteristic values of possible storage technologies and distinguished them in regional terms. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMBF
Thermochemical storage 21.4.2016

Metal hydrides store faster with graphite

Many metal alloys can reversibly bind large amounts of hydrogen, forming metal hydrides. The chemical reaction releases large amounts of heat. Metal hydrides are therefore suitable not only for hydrogen storage but also as thermochemical heat storage. Metal hydride storages achieve extremely high charging and discharging performances by a combination of metal hydrides with thermally conductive graphite in a composite material. ... more


Physical Storage | BMWi
Huge water tanks for buildings 1.7.2016

Hot water storage tank

Scientists develop a new type of hot water tanks with volumes between 5 to 100 m³ for outdoor use. The specific costs shall reach from 750 to 900 €/m³. Additionally the thermal ability of the tanks will be improved significantly by adding a combination of innovative concepts. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Latent heat storage 1.7.2016

Thermal characterization of PCM

Scientists from the ZAE Bayern develop measurement methods to characterize PCM materials in application-oriented samples. The project PCM Metro aims to a better understanding of quantity-dependent phenomena compared to standard laboratory procedures. ... more


Thermal Storage | BMWi
Liquid sorptionstorage 4.7.2016

Saline stores process and solar heat

Scientists at the University of Applied Sciences Stuttgart constructed an open air run sorption heat storage, that regenerates itself by process heat or solar thermal energy. Prototypes were developed, consisting of regenerator, absorber and the storage. These can be used for various cooling, heating and drying applications. By 2017, the storage is to be ready for the market. ... more


Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

no news in this list.

ACTEnglish version
Schwerpunkt der Förderinitiative

Wärme speichern

In den verschiedenen Forschungsverbünden arbeiten Forscher an der Verbesserung von Komponenten und Konstruktion bekannter Technologien, zum Beispiel durch den Einsatz neuer und kostengünstigerer Materialien. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf Latentwärmespeicher und Sorptionsspeicher. Anwendungsschwerpunkte sind Speicher für konventionelle und solarthermische Kraftwerke, für stromgeführte KWK-Anlagen, saisonale Speicher für Gebäude, und Speicher, die das Management von Wärmenetze erleichtern.

Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 1.10.2015

Abwärme für Herstellung von Betonfertigteilen nutzen

Im Projekt ENBELAT entwickeln Forscher neue Anlagenkomponenten. Zur Nutzung der Hydrationswärme statten sie Betonfertigteilformen mit einer Wärmerückführung aus und speichern die Wärme in einem Latentwärmespeicher. Das steigert die Qualität und hilft den Energieverbrauch um 45 Prozent zu senken. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Thermochemischer Festphasen-Speicher 1.2.2016

Wärme auf kleinstem Raum speichern

Thermochemische Wärmespeicher erzielen im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Wärmespeichermaterialien hohe spezifische Energiedichten - und dies kostengünstig. Die geringe Wärmeleitfähigkeit des Materials begrenzt allerdings die Be- und Entladeleistung des Speichers. Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer UMSICHT entwickelten neue thermochemische Speichermaterialien deren  Wärmeleitfähigkeit durch die Zugabe spezieller Zusatzstoffe gezielt erhöht wird. .

.. mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 2.2.2016

Wirtschaftlicher dank neuem Phasenwechselmaterial

Wissenschaftler der Universität Bayreuth wollen mobile Latentwärmespeicher weiterentwickeln. Im Projekt MALATrans forschen sie daran, wie sich die thermische Leistung dieser Speicher bei der Be- und Entladung steigern lässt und wie die Herstellungskosten gesenkt werden können. Gelingen soll das mit makroverkapselten Phasenwechselmaterialien. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Komposit-Materialien 16.2.2016

Wärme in Aktivschichten speichern

Um Sonnenwärme für Privathaushalte und die Abwärme aus der Industrie besser nutzen zu können, konstruiert die Nachwuchsgruppe im Projekt NEOTHERM neuartige sorptive Speichermaterialien. Dafür untersuchen die Jungforscher, wie sich die entwickelten Materialien im großen Maßstab herstellen lassen. Diese können in Solarthermieanlagen oder bei der Nutzung von Abwärme aus Verbrennungsprozessen verwendet werden. Außerdem lassen sich spezielle Komposite in Wärmepumpen-Anwendungen zur Raumklimatisierung einsetzen. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Salzhydrate 14.3.2016

Gebäudeklimatisierung mit neuen Salzhydraten

Im Projekt PC-Cools_V wurden neue Salzhydrate, sogenannte PCM, mit schmalem Schmelzbereich um 15 und 21 Grad Celsius entwickelt. Während das 15-gradige Salzhydrat für zentrale Kältespeicher gedacht ist, wurde das 21-gradige PCM in raumintegrierten Speichern mit aktiver Rückkühlungsmöglichkeit eingesetzt, beispielsweise in Kühldecken. ... mehr


Übergeordnetes | BMWi
Studie 31.3.2016

Energiespeicher im Jahr 2030

Welche Systeminfrastruktur ist am günstigsten für das Versorgungssystem? Wie sieht der Speicherbedarf im Jahr 2030 aus? Diesen Fragen gingen Wissenschaftler in der Studie „Merit Order“ nach. Dazu erfassten sie Kenngrößen möglicher Speichertechnologien und unterschieden sie regional. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMBF
Thermochemischer Speicher 21.4.2016

Metallhydride speichern schneller mit Graphit

Viele Metall-Legierungen können große Mengen Wasserstoff reversibel binden, indem sie Metallhydride bilden. Sie eignen sich nicht nur zur Wasserstoffspeicherung sondern auch als thermochemische Wärmespeicher. Forscher kombinieren wärmeleitfähiges Grafit in einem Verbundwerkstoff mit extrem hoher Be- und Entladeleistung. ... mehr


Stofflicher Speicher | BMWi
Warmwasserspeicher 1.7.2016

Große außenaufgestellte Warmwasserspeicher

Im Projekt StoEx entwickelten Wissenschaftler gemeinsam mit der Industrie eine Baureihe von großen Warmwasserspeichern zur Aufstellung außerhalb von Gebäuden. Eine Kombination innovativer Wärmedämmkonzepte und Beladetechnik soll die thermische Leistungsfähigkeit der Speicher gegenüber heute üblichen Produkten signifikant steigern. Gleichzeitig wollten die Kooperationspartner konkurrenzfähige Herstellungskosten erreichen. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Latentwärmespeicher 1.7.2016

PCM praxisnah charakterisieren

Im Projekt PCM-Metro erarbeiten Forscher des ZAE Bayern Messmethoden, mit denen PCM-Materialien in anwendungsnahen Probenmengen charakterisiert werden können. Gegenüber üblichen Laborverfahren können so mengenabhängige Phänomene besser erfasst werden. ... mehr


Thermischer Speicher | BMWi
Flüssigsorption 4.7.2016

Salzlösung speichert Prozess- und solare Wärme

Wissenschaftler der Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart konstruierten ein offenes, luftgeführtes Flüssigsorptionsspeichersystem, das sich durch Prozesswärme oder solarthermische Energie regeneriert. Dazu wurden Versuchsmuster entwickelt, bestehend aus Regenerator, Absorber und Flüssigsorptionsspeicher. Diese lassen sich für diverse Kühl-, Heiz- und Trocknungsanwendungen einsetzen. Bis 2017 soll der Speicher bereits marktreif sein. ... mehr


Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

5. Juli 2017
Thermische Energiespeicher

11. Juli 2017
Intersolar North America

22. August 2017
Intersolar South America

» Alle Termine