Deutsche Version  ACT
Flagship of the funding initiative

Wind to hydrogen

Methane from hydrogen: researchers at the Centre for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg (ZSW) have optimized methanation.
© ZSW
Wind energy is a major pillar of the energy revolution
© alpha ventus

The core element of the „Wind-Wasserstoff-Kopplung“ (“combined wind-hydrogen”) flagship project is the generation of hydrogen with significantly more efficient and, in particular, more flexible technologies for chemical change, known as electrolysers. The need for fast and flexible regulation arises from the fluctuating feed-in of renewable energy into the power grid. If the hydrogen is converted into methane, it can easily be distributed via the natural gas network. In this case, it is known as “Power­to­Gas” technology, which is already regarded as an important option by the energy industry. It is, however, not yet economically viable. The projects should help to make this storage option more economical through improved technology.

Focus areas

As part of the „Wind-Wasserstoff-Kopplung“ (“combined wind-hydrogen”) flagship project, the biggest technical challenge is to achieve the highest degree of efficiency possible in the decomposition of water into storable hydrogen and oxygen by electrolysis. Scientists are also investigating the possibility of storing hydrogen in geological storage systems and efficiently reconverting it into electricity. The methanation of hydrogen will allow us to use the infrastructure and the storage capacity of the natural gas network.
Example projects:

  • The “ekolyser” joint project uses the expertise of research institutions (Research Centre Jülich and the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society) and industry (Solvicore, Gräbener Maschinentechnik, FuMA-Tech) to develop improved components for flexible PEM electrolysers. Based on extensive experience in the development of components for fuel cells, the group's participants hope to improve the service life of membranes, develop metallic bipolar plates for the demanding operation in electrolysers and reduce the loading of expensive catalysts.
  • In the LastElSys project, the German Aerospace Centre (DLR) and Hydrogenics GmbH is further developing PEM electrolysers and adapting them to the changing loads that occur when using electricity from fluctuating renewable energy sources. The aim is to achieve membrane electrolysis units resistant to load changes for use in PEM electrolysis systems. To do this, a test system is to be built in which various combinations of membranes and catalysts can be researched and tested.
  • A project at the Technische Universität Berlin is working on developing new, highly active and cost-effective electrolysis catalysts for both part-reactions in hydrogen electrolysis. The project will help in the medium to long term to improve the cost effectiveness of storing energy in the form of hydrogen.

Wind to hydrogen: number of projects by topic (as of June 2013)
© FIZ Karlsruhe
Supported by: The Federal Government on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag

Dates

23. October 2017
E-Mobility Power System Integration Symposium

5. December 2017
Intersolar India

13. March 2018
Energy Storage Europe 2018

» All dates

ACTEnglish version
Leuchtturm der Förderinitiative

Wind zu Wasserstoff

Methan aus Wasserstoff: Forscher des Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW) optimieren die Methanisierung.
© ZSW
Die Windenergie ist ein Hauptpfeiler der Energiewende.
© alpha ventus

Kernelement des Leuchtturms „Wind-Wasserstoff-Kopplung“ ist die Erzeugung von Wasserstoff mit gegenüber dem heutigen Stand deutlich effizienteren und vor allem flexibleren Technologien zur Stoffumwandlung, so genannten Elektrolyseuren. Die Notwendigkeit, innerhalb kurzer Zeit flexibel regeln zu können, ergibt sich aus der fluktuierenden Einspeisung erneuerbarer Energiequellen ins Stromnetz. Wird der Wasserstoff in Methan umgewandelt, kann er auf einfache Weise über das Erdgasnetz verteilt werden. In diesem Fall spricht man von der „Power­to­Gas“­ Technologie, die von der Energiewirtschaft bereits heute als wichtige Option angesehen wird. Sie kann zurzeit aber noch nicht wirtschaftlich betrieben werden. Die Projekte sollen durch verbesserte Technik dazu beitragen, diese Speicheroption wirtschaftlich zu machen.

Förderschwerpunkte

Im Rahmen der Projekte des Leuchtturms „Wind-Wasserstoff- Kopplung“ besteht die größte technische Herausforderung darin, bei der Zerlegung von Wasser zu speicherbarem Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff durch Elektrolyse einen möglichst hohen Wirkungsgrad zu erzielen. Auch die Speicherung des Wasserstoffs in geologischen Speichern sowie eine effiziente Wiederverstromung wird untersucht. Durch die Methanisierung des Wasserstoffs kann die Infrastruktur und die Speicherfähigkeit des Erdgasnetzes genutzt werden.
Beispielprojekte:

  • Der Verbund „ekolyser“ nutzt die Expertise von Forschungseinrichtungen (Forschungszentrum Jülich und Fritz- Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft) und Industrie (Solvicore, Gräbener Maschinentechnik, FuMA-Tech) zur Entwicklung verbesserter Komponenten für flexible PEM- Elektrolyseure. Aufbauend auf den umfangreichen Erfahrungen der Teilnehmer des Verbunds in der Entwicklung der Komponenten für Brennstoffzellen sollen die Standzeit von Membranen verbessert, metallische Bipolarplatten für den anspruchsvollen Betrieb in Elektrolyseuren entwickelt und die Beladung mit teuren Katalysatoren reduziert werden.
  • Im Projekt „LastElSys“ entwickeln das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und die Hydrogenics GmbH PEM- Elektrolyseure weiter und passen diese an die wechselnden Lasten an, die bei der Verwendung von Strom aus fluktuierenden erneuerbaren Energien auftreten. Ziel sind lastwechselresistente Membran-Elektrolyse-Einheiten für PEM-Elektrolysesysteme. Dazu wird ein Testsystem aufgebaut, in dem verschiedene Kombinationen von Membranen und Katalysatoren erforscht und getestet werden können.
  • Ein Projekt der Technischen Universität Berlin verfolgt die Entwicklung neuartiger hochaktiver preisgünstiger Elektrolysekatalysatoren für beide Teilreaktionen der Wasserstoffelektrolyse. Das Vorhaben trägt zur mittel- bis langfristigen Verbesserung der Wirtschaftlichkeit der Energiespeicherung in Form von Wasserstoff bei.

Wind zu Wasserstoff: Zahl der Projekte nach thematischer Zuordnung (Stand Juni 2013).
© FIZ Karlsruhe
Gefördert durch die Bundesregierung aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages

Termine

8. März 2017
32. Symposium Photovoltaic

14. März 2017
Energy Storage Europe 2017

14. März 2017
IRES 2017

» Alle Termine